r1404

Rating:        Based on 9 ratings
Reviewed:  9 reviews
Downloads: 17679
Released: Mar 16, 2011
Updated: Aug 23, 2012 by Cygon
Dev status: Stable Help Icon

Recommended Download

Application nuclex-framework-r1404-binaries.zip
application, 2929K, uploaded Mar 16, 2011 - 9186 downloads

Other Available Downloads

Application nuclex-framework-r1404-demos.zip
application, 6481K, uploaded Mar 16, 2011 - 4336 downloads
Application nuclex-framework-r1404-sources.zip
application, 22266K, uploaded Mar 16, 2011 - 4157 downloads

Release Notes

New release fixing several bugs that slipped into the R1323 release. XNA 4.0 assemblies only, all Windows builds are compiled targeting the .NET 4.0 Client Profile.

Requires either Visual C# 2010 Express or Visual Studio 2010, both with XNA Game Studio 4.0.
3rd party libraries needed to compile and run the source code are included, so everything will compile out of the box.

Changes:
- All assemblies upgraded to NMock3 (enables signing, improves refactoring-friendliness)
- All release assemblies now have been signed with a strong name
- Nuclex.Input was listing certain types of controllers twice, once for the XInput API and once for DirectInput
- The assemblies that had disappeared in the previous release (audio, networking, etc. ) are back
- Windows Keyboard class had reported key states inverted - fixed
- The Y axes of DirectInput controllers were upside-down - fixed
- Axis assignments beyond the standard axes for DirectInput game pads were messed up - fixed
- Removed nunit.framework.dll dependency from TrueTypeImporter (but not framework assemblies)
- Release ships as .zip instead of .7z

@muadiber: Yes it does. SlimDX is used by Nuclex.Input and in the x86 (PC) assembly. I went to extraordinary lengths to compile my own, trimmed-down version of SlimDX that also uses the exact same Visual C++ runtime DLL which already ships with XNA 4.0 and .NET 4.0.

It was the best way to interface with DirectInput (before SharpDX) and needs just this DLL added to your game installer (MDX 1.0 would actually require you to pick up an old DirectX redistributable, strip it and run it from a bootstrapper.)

And If you have a personal gripe with SlimDX, just download the source release, add a define for 'NO_DIRECTINPUT' and remove SlimDX.DirectInput.dll - then there will be no trace of SlimDX left anywhere. Thanks for the rating.

Reviews for this release

     
Great work Cygon. I was able to build and run all of your samples without issue.
by ivanbohannon on Dec 5, 2013 at 1:51 AM
     
Just come here to thank you for the nice .dll. I used just one of them. Nuclex.Fonts.Content.TrueTypeImporter.dll It solved me about my local language(Lao) complexity and has a nice Anti-Aliasing too. Cheers!
by johnnysayasane on Jun 3, 2013 at 5:29 PM
     
Solved many issues I was having and was dreading coding them myself. Your Game States solution is pure genius...thanks!
by KSBeebe on Apr 4, 2013 at 7:09 AM
     
Appears to lack multiline text field functionality, which is something I'd consider "basic functionality."
by willpowered on Feb 19, 2013 at 12:44 AM
     
Great framework.
by miklos_albert on Dec 19, 2012 at 4:15 PM
     
Requires slimdx
by muadiber on Dec 5, 2011 at 10:47 AM
     
Thank you for Labour.
by umityildizcom on Oct 13, 2011 at 11:33 AM
     
This framework has saved me tonnes of development time. And it's designed in a way which pushes me towards good programming practices.
by nlarooy on Oct 3, 2011 at 6:07 PM
     
Great framework, clean sourcecode.
by rOim on Jul 21, 2011 at 4:11 AM